The Best FIFA Award: Mikel, Akide Named On Panel Of Football Experts

Nigerian duo, John Mikel Obi and Mercy Akide have been named on panel of experts for the 2023 FIFA Best Football Awards.


Mikel, a former Super Eagles captain and Akide, who once a prolific striker with the Super Falcons are among 30-man panel that shortlisted the various candidates for The Best Awards.

Mikel is among the 11 that shortlisted the nominees for the men’s category.

His compatriot, Akide is among the 11 members in the women’s category.

Women’s Panel Men’s Panel Fan Award

Mercy Akide (Nigeria) Petr Cech (Czechia) DaMarcus Beasley (USA)

Shirley Cruz (Costa Rica) Didier Drogba (Cõte d’Ivoire) Heather Garriock (Australia)

Amy Duggan (Australia) Brett Emerton (Australia) Maia Jackman (New Zealand)

Isabella Echeverri (Colombia) Rio Ferdinand (England) Carmelina Moscato (Canada)

Mia Hamm (USA) Asamoah Gyan (Ghana) Roque Junior (Brazil)

Jessica Houara (France) Kaká (Brazil) Roque Santa Cruz (Paraguay)

Mana Iwabuchi (Japan) Mario Kempes (Argentina) Jean Sseninde (Uganda)

Manon Melis (Netherlands) Alexi Lalas (USA) Ian Wright (England)

Patrizia Panico (Italy) Jon Obi Mikel (Nigeria)

Clémentine Touré (Ivory Coast) Park Ji-Sung (Korea Republic)

Kirsty Yallop (New Zealand) Ivan Vicelich (New Zealand)

About the author

Rabia Rabiu

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.