Federal Government Budgets ₦230.9‬ Billion For 14 Nigerian Universities

14 federal universities in Nigeria will each receive N230.9 billion from the federal government in the 2023 budget, with University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN) receiving the largest share.

Name Spur Nigeria is aware that the N230.9 billion will be distributed to the Ahmadu Bello University, University of Benin, University of Nigeria Nsukka, University of Ibadan, and Obafemi Awolowo University.

Others are University of Lagos, University of Jos, University of Ilorin, Federal University of Technology, Owerri, FUT Akure, Minna, University of Calabar, and Nigeria Open University (NOUN).

The allocation comes amid the ongoing eight months strike by the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU). Brand Spur Nigeria understands that the university body is now considering calling off the strike, putting up the possibility of its resumption to a vote among its members.

Breakdown by highest allocation
According to the 2023 budget breakdown, Buhari allocated N29.3 billion to University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Ahmadu Bello University received N25.8 billion, and University of Lagos got N22.3 billion.

The University of Calabar was allocated N21.5 billion, University of Benin received N19.5 billion, University of Ibadan got N19.2 billion, and Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, received an allocation of N18.3 billion.

The University of Ilorin was apportioned N18.1 billion, Obafemi Awolowo University got N16.3 billion, and University of Jos received N14.2 billion from the budget.

For the Federal Technology Universities, FUTO, Owerri, was allocated N14.3 billion, FUTA, Akure, got N8.4 billion, and FUT Minna, was given N7.2 billion.

Meanwhile, the Nigeria Open University (NOUN) will receive N10.7 billion from the budget.


About the author

Mr. ArewaBlog

C.E.O/Founder ArewaBlog

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.